Achenbach Buschhütten

Right at the top with Germany's oldest mechanical engineering company

Achenbach Buschhütten was founded in 1452 and is one of the oldest family-owned companies in Germany – and one of the founding partners of scitis.io. The company is a leading manufacturer of rolling mills and foil cutting machines for high-quality non-ferrous metals.

Achenbach Buschhütten always wants to offer its customers outstanding mechanical equipment, thus enabling them to secure success potentials in their respective markets and at the same time to secure their future viability in view of developments such as digitalization and Industry 4.0.

Together with Achenbach Buschhütten, scitis.io has developed the cloud-based platform OPTILINK® – within 20 months from proof of concept to the complete First Release. This enables live data to be collected from various sources in production, for example on speed, thickness and flatness in the aluminum rolling process. The metal processor can use this information to assess the efficiency of individual work processes. Any errors in the process can also be detected at an early stage and production interruptions can be minimized or avoided altogether.

Whether the machines are three, 20 or 100 years old is irrelevant for the connection. Thanks to Google’s open tools, the platform co-developed by scitis.io can work with any standard PLC (programmable logic controller) and is therefore independent of heavy industry technologies. Even data from machines from other manufacturers involved in the process, such as operating furnaces or grinding machines, can be viewed because the system is easily transferable to other plants and scales easily. An individual solution can therefore be set up very quickly.

Since individual machines can be connected easily, flexibly and cost-effectively, entire production chains can be upgraded more quickly – regardless of the industry. OPTILINK’s performance spectrum ranges from complex OEE (Overall Equipment Effectiveness) considerations to quality monitoring and predictive algorithms for automatic anomaly detection.

scitis.io will continue to support Achenbach Buschhütten in the future in the further development of the platform.

To the website

With the technology of the scitis.io platform we are able to network not only our own machines but the entire supply chain; an unprecedented opportunity for us as machine and plant manufacturers, but also for our customers and their customers: efficient and sustainable production, less waste and direct feedback for better end products.

André E. Barten, Managing Director Achenbach Buschhütten GmbH & Co. KG

Achenbach Buschhütten

Ganz vorne dabei mit Deutschlands ältestem Maschinenbauunternehmen

Achenbach Buschhütten wurde 1452 gegründet und ist eines der ältesten Familienunternehmen in Deutschland  – und einer der Gründungspartner von scitis.io. Das Unternehmen ist führender Hersteller von Walzwerkanlagen und Folienschneidmaschinen für hochwertige Nichteisenmetalle.

Seinen Kunden will Achenbach Buschhütten stets hervorragende maschinelle Ausrüstung anbieten und ihnen so ermöglichen, Erfolgspotenziale in ihren jeweiligen Märkten und zugleich auch die Zukunftsfähigkeit zu sichern, angesichts von Entwicklungen wie Digitalisierung und Industrie 4.0.

scitis.io hat gemeinsam mit Achenbach Buschhütten die cloudbasierte Plattform OPTILINK® entwickelt – innerhalb von 20 Monaten vom Proof of Concept bis zum vollständigen First Release. Damit werden Live-Daten aus verschiedenen Quellen in der Fertigung erfasst, etwa zu Geschwindigkeit, Dicke und Ebenheit im Aluminiumwalzprozess.  Der Metallverarbeiter kann mit diesen Informationen die Effizienz einzelner Arbeitsprozesse beurteilen. Auch etwaige Fehler im Prozess lassen sich frühzeitig erkennen und Produktionsunterbrechungen minimieren oder ganz verhindern.

Ob die Maschinen drei, 20 oder 100 Jahre alt sind spielt für die Anbindung keine Rolle. Dank der offenen Tools von Google kann die von scitis.io mitentwickelte Plattform mit jeder gängigen SPS (speicherprogrammierbare Steuerung) arbeiten und ist entsprechend unabhängig von  Technologien der Schwerindustrie. Selbst Daten von am Prozess beteiligter Maschinen anderer Hersteller, wie etwa Betriebsöfen oder Schleifmaschinen können eingesehen werden, denn das System ist einfach auf andere Anlagen übertragbar und skaliert problemlos. Eine individuelle Lösung lässt sich dadurch sehr schnell einrichten.

Da die Anbindung einzelner Maschinen einfach, flexibel und kostengünstig möglich ist, können auch ganze Produktionsketten schneller aufgerüstet werden – egal in welcher Industrie. Das Leistungsspektrum von OPTILINK reicht von komplexen OEE (Overall Equipment Effectiveness)-Betrachtungen über Qualitäts-Monitoring bis hin zu prädiktiven Algorithmen zur automatischen Erkennung von Anomalien.

scitis.io begleitet Achenbach Buschhütten auch in Zukunft bei der Weiterentwicklung der Plattform.

 

Zur Website

Mit der Technologie der scitis.io-Plattform sind wir in der Lage, nicht nur unsere eigenen Maschinen, sondern die gesamte Supply Chain zu vernetzen; eine noch nie dagewesene Chance für uns als Maschinen- und Anlagenbauer, aber auch für unsere Kunden und deren Kunden: effiziente und nachhaltige Produktion, weniger Verschwendung und direktes Feedback für besserer Endprodukte.

André E. Barten, Geschäftsführer Achenbach Buschhütten GmbH & Co. KG